Tuxicity's source

March 5, 2007

PCLinuxOS more popular than Mandriva in Distrowatch

Filed under: Mandriva, PCLinuxOS — tuxicity @ 6:03 am

PCLinuxOS 2007 Test 3 came out yesterday, and I noticed, in the Page Hit Ranking of Distrowatch, PCLinuxOS has more hits (1140) than Mandriva (1031).

I used Mandrake (now Mandriva) years ago.

When they started having a club, where you have to pay at least $66 or 60 € a year to get extra (often needed) packages, I left, as did many others.

Kicking Gaël Duval, the original founder of Mandrake, who is now setting up Ulteo, an Ubuntu based distro, out of Mandriva also does not help to stay popular as a distro.

Mandrake was the first distro that tried to make Linux popular and easier to use on the desktop, now with Mandriva it seems to have forgotten how to do that.

My guess is, that with the attempts to fix its financial problems, Mandriva forgot to keep an eye on the one thing that makes any distro big: The users.

PCLinuxOS is derived from Mandrake, as is its popularity, and has not forgotten how to make an easy to use and configure Linux desktop distro.

Tuxicity.

3 Comments »

  1. I definitley here what you’re saying about the club, but the only thing it really keeps you from getting if not a member is the “automatic update” notifications. I’m not a member, and I don’t know of any packages I can’t get. You just have to setup the online repositories, something like easyurpmi.org. And I think club members might get a sooner release, but not by much. Also, if you haven’t tried mandriva 2007, I don’t think you can really talk about ease-of-use.

    -lucidbue

    Comment by lucidblue — March 31, 2007 @ 5:46 pm

  2. I just switched from XP to Mandriva 2007. I found it was the only 1 to pick up my Speedtouch DSL modem…..I had planned on Ubuntu, but it was too much hassle.

    The club thing with Mandriva is a bit annoying, but….I installed the free version of Mandriva (One) and get my automatic update notification etc. I did join the club since it was free. I have noticed some packages which I want like Apache don’t seem to be in the repository, but a visit to the apache site will solve that issue.

    I’ve not visited the club site, I’m not sure what benefits you get being a member. I’d guess some propriety software like Adobe Acrobat Reader….XPDF works cleaner and keeps the place for nest time, who needs anything else?

    It maybe a support thing, like access to a 1-2-1 help, but there are plenty of forums, IRC etc for help….all I know is that my Mandriva is working 100% with everything I wanted on it (that I know of so far), and that I have joined the club and everything is free so far.

    My first look at Linux years ago was Mandrake 9.1 and it’s improved considerably in being newbie friendly. The key elements of Ubuntu have been incorporated now, like the update button, the dependency management….the fact it’s now a combo live / install CD.

    My modem was the reason I had to go with Mandriva…..but I am more than impressed so far…it’s my first 100% Linux OS, and my Linux training platform. When I build my next PC, it will be designed for Linux, at which point I’ll be much more experienced and will probably experiment with another distribution……possibly Slackware, but thats in the future.

    Comment by Dirk Gently — April 26, 2007 @ 12:45 am

  3. plz join this orkut community about pclinux and share ur experiences and expertise
    http://www.orkut.com/Community.aspx?cmm=37586510

    Comment by julie — September 10, 2007 @ 2:49 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

