Tuxicity's source

March 6, 2007

Distro’s and (lack of) Packages.

Filed under: Distributions, Gnome, kde, Tuxicity — tuxicity @ 2:06 pm

I prefer Gnome over KDE, and also prefer Ubuntu Brown over Mandriva Blue, its all a matter of personal preference.

In other words, who cares, I am not going to flame anyone.

In KDE I need some Gnome apps, and need some KDE apps when using Gnome

In Gnome I use the following KDE apps:

In KDE I would use the following Gnome apps:

There are usable replacement apps for both DE’s, but this just works better for me, and is the reason I have both environments installed.

My first experiences with distro’s that had an abundance of packages were Debian and Gentoo, and for the same reason I use now Ubuntu. There is so much to discover!

I’ll never be happy with any distro that has exclusively KDE or Gnome or in any other way a limited set of packages, however fast and/or stable it may be.

There are so many great open source applications to discover, and one of them might just be the one that suits me best.

Tuxicity.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

