Tuxicity's source

December 30, 2008

Xorg.conf Removed – Part 2

Filed under: Arch Linux, linux, Tuxicity, X.org — tuxicity @ 10:45 am

Everything works fine ? ,  yes, except for xrandr unfortunately.

I had to re-add xorg.conf to get my TV-out to work.

This  morning I read a “First Look” story on the recently released 2.6.28 kernel, from ars technica. Specially the the “Graphics Execution Manager” (GEM) interested me; it is one of the additions and GEM was said to boost framerates by between 50 and 60 percent for Intel 915 graphics hardware.

The 2.6.28 kernel is available in the abs of Arch Linux, so I decided to build it from abs and install it to see if it would improve the functionality of my Intel graphics controller, especially xrander (you never know…).

After install of the fresh kernel I removed xorg.conf (again).
Rebooted, to initiate the new kernel, hooked up my TV, ran xrander – -auto on it and…. It worked!

I can watch videos on my TV now, without needing a  xorg.conf.

Tuxicity

1 Comment »

  1. On 07/29/2012 07:36 PM, Patrick Dupre wrote: > It looks like that I missed something during the installation. > I do not have a graphic. > > How can I install the right driver? > > xrandr -q > can’t open display > > I put lspci result and the Xorg.0.log files > > > 0:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82Q963/Q965 Memory Controller Hub (rev 02) > 00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82Q963/Q965 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02) That hardware should use the i915 driver and it should have been installed…. Can we assume that you’ve managed to install? Your previous messages indicated you weren’t able to complete an install. If you have been successful you really should tell people. Otherwise people will continue to try and help you with that problem. The i915 driver is located here…. /usr/lib/modules/3.4.6-2.fc17.x86_64/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915.ko on my system. What does lsmod show?

    Comment by mercadee — November 9, 2012 @ 8:32 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.